EC Data Protection Regulation

The European Commission’s proposed General Data Protection Regulation calls for the “establishment of certification mechanisms, data protection seals and marks“ to enhance transparency and legal compliance and to permit data subjects (individuals) the means to make quick assessments of the level of data protection of relevant products and services.

The Information Commissioners Office (ICO)

After taking advice from and reaching agreement with the Information Commissioners Office (ICO) in 2003, the CCTV Inspectorate designed and continues to update its unique generic Compliance Assessment Forms (CAF’s) for individual CCTV systems installed in the public and private sectors.

The CAF is currently being further updated to becoming a Digital Compliance Assessment Form (D.CAF).



Completion of these nationally available documents on a regular basis by a CCTV Inspectorate trained Certificated Licensed Assessor, ensures the monitoring of compliance and the maintenance of good privacy standards with the CCTV Code of Practice, provided that any recommended remedial work has been completed satisfactorily within a specified period of time.


The national independent CCTV Inspectorate is designed to operate as a “not for profit” organisation. This Certification Body provides training, certification and monitoring of Licensed Assessors, Licensed Inspectors and CCTV Owners/Users to ensure adherence to and completion of the compliance documentation to a satisfactory level.

This documentation, available at a nominal cost, underpins and supplements the legal and good practice compliance requirements of the CCTV Code of Practice pursuant to the GDPR and DPA (2018).

The CCTV Inspectorate and its Inspectors is a national CCTV Inspectorate acting and operating independently of the ICO, and there is no connection between the ICO and the CCTV Inspectorate. The roles of both respective organisations are different and clearly defined.


The CCTV Inspectorate is working towards accreditation with the United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS), the body recognised by the government as the sole national accreditation authority to assess the competence, impartiality and performance capability of organisations providing certification and inspection services. UKAS operates under a Memorandum of Understanding with the Government.

The CCTV inspectorate is registered with the Information Commissioner’s Office.

Privacy Policy

Who we are

Our website address is:

What personal data we collect and why we collect it


When visitors leave comments on the site we collect the data shown in the comments form, and also the visitor’s IP address and browser user agent string to help spam detection.

An anonymized string created from your email address (also called a hash) may be provided to the Gravatar service to see if you are using it.


If you upload images to the website, you should avoid uploading images with embedded location data (EXIF GPS) included. Visitors to the website can download and extract any location data from images on the website.

Contact forms


If you leave a comment on our site you may opt-in to saving your name, email address and website in cookies. These are for your convenience so that you do not have to fill in your details again when you leave another comment. These cookies will last for one year.

If you have an account and you log in to this site, we will set a temporary cookie to determine if your browser accepts cookies. This cookie contains no personal data and is discarded when you close your browser.

When you log in, we will also set up several cookies to save your login information and your screen display choices. Login cookies last for two days, and screen options cookies last for a year. If you select “Remember Me”, your login will persist for two weeks. If you log out of your account, the login cookies will be removed.

If you edit or publish an article, an additional cookie will be saved in your browser. This cookie includes no personal data and simply indicates the post ID of the article you just edited. It expires after 1 day.

Embedded content from other websites
Articles on this site may include embedded content (e.g. videos, images, articles, etc.). Embedded content from other websites behaves in the exact same way as if the visitor has visited the other website.

These websites may collect data about you, use cookies, embed additional third-party tracking, and monitor your interaction with that embedded content, including tracking your interaction with the embedded content if you have an account and are logged in to that website.


If you leave a comment, the comment and its metadata are retained indefinitely. This is so we can recognize and approve any follow-up comments automatically instead of holding them in a moderation queue.

For users that register on our website (if any), we also store the personal information they provide in their user profile. All users can see, edit, or delete their personal information at any time (except they cannot change their username). Website administrators can also see and edit that information.

What rights you have over your data

If you have an account on this site, or have left comments, you can request to receive an exported file of the personal data we hold about you, including any data you have provided to us. You can also request that we erase any personal data we hold about you. This does not include any data we are obliged to keep for administrative, legal, or security purposes.

Where we send your data

Visitor comments may be checked through an automated spam detection service.